Asbury Park


Establishing a “Code Enforcement/Quality of Life Committee” in and for the City of Asbury Park and Authorizing Appointments Thereto


Department:City ClerkSponsors:
Category:Reorganization Resolutions


  1. Printout


WHEREAS, the Mayor and City Council of the City of Asbury Park (the “City”) believe that it is in the best interests of the residents of the City to formally create a “Code Enforcement/Quality of Life Committee,” (also referenced herein as the “Committee”) for the purpose(s) set forth below; and


WHEREAS, the purpose(s) of the Committee shall be to study existing code enforcement and quality of life issues within the City and to provide consultative and advisory assistance to Mayor and Council concerning such issues; and


              WHEREAS, the Committee shall provide advice to the Mayor and Council as to short-term and long-term recommendations; and


WHEREAS, it is intended that the Committee shall be advisory in nature, and that the Committee shall report its findings and recommendations to the Mayor and Council for further action, as the Governing Body deems appropriate; and


WHEREAS, the Committee shall keep the Mayor and Council informed of its work and shall report to the City Council at the Council’s request; and


WHEREAS, the Committee shall be composed of members who shall be appointed by the Mayor and Council and who shall serve, without compensation, at the pleasure of the Mayor and Council; and


WHEREAS, the terms of the Committee members shall begin January 1, 2018 and shall expire December 31, 2018; and


WHEREAS, the Committee shall appoint a Chair, and shall meet in accordance with a schedule as the Committee deems appropriate; and


WHEREAS, the Committee members will be indemnified for actions that are performed in the good faith performance of their duties in accordance with the provisions contained in Section 2-64 of the City Code, as well as applicable law; and


WHEREAS, the Mayor and Council now wish to appoint certain individuals to serve on the Committee.


NOW, THEREFORE, BE AND IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, by the Mayor and Council of the City of Asbury Park, in the County of Monmouth and State of New Jersey, as follows:


1.              A “Code Enforcement/Quality of Life Committee” (the “Committee”) is hereby established in and for the City, in accordance with the terms and conditions referenced above.


2.               The following individuals are hereby appointed to serve on the Committee:


              Appointee                                                                      Term to Expire

                            Council Member Yvonne Clayton                            12/31/2018

Council Member Eileen Chapman                            12/31/2018

Rob McKeon                                                                      12/31/2018

Elli Kaymakcian                                                        12/31/2018

Hannah Walker                                                        12/31/2018

Norman Robertson                                                        12/31/2018

Trudy Syphax                                                                      12/31/2018

Rita Williams                                                                      12/31/2018

Kareen Kircher                                                                      12/31/2018

Greg Hopson                                                                      12/31/2018

Bonnie Barrett                                                                      12/31/2018

Melanie Chongolola-Nestor                                          12/31/2018



3.              A certified copy of this Resolution shall be provided to each member appointed and Michael N. Capabianco, City Manager.


Meeting History

Jan 3, 2018 7:00 PM  Municipal Council Organizational Meeting

The following members are being appointed:

Council Member Yvonne Clayton, Term: 12/31/2018

Council Member Eileen Chapman, Term: 12/31/2018

Rob McKeon, Term: 12/31/2018

Elli Kaymakcian, Term: 12/31/2018

Hannah Walker , Term: 12/31/2018

Norman Robertson, Term: 12/31/2018

Trudy Syphax, Term: 12/31/2018

Rita Williams, Term: 12/31/2018

Kareen Kircher, Term: 12/31/2018

Greg Hopson, Term: 12/31/2018

Bonnie Barrett, Term: 12/31/2018

Melanie Chongolola-Nestor, Term: 12/31/2018

MOVER:Amy Quinn, Deputy Mayor
SECONDER:Eileen Chapman, Councilmember
AYES:Eileen Chapman, Jesse Kendle, Amy Quinn, John Moor
ABSENT:Yvonne Clayton

Powered by Accela - Legislative Management