Asbury Park


Appointment to the Business Advisory Committee


Department:City ClerkSponsors:
Category:Reorganization Resolutions


  1. Printout


WHEREAS, the Mayor and City Council of the City of Asbury Park (the “City”) believe that it is in the best interests of the residents of the City to formally create a “Business Committee,” (also referenced herein as the “Committee”) for the purpose(s) set forth below; and


WHEREAS, the purpose(s) of the Committee shall be to provide consultative and advisory assistance to the Mayor and Council, regarding business issues for the City, as well as all residents of the community; and


WHEREAS, it is intended that the Committee shall be advisory in nature, and that the Committee shall report its findings and recommendations to the Mayor and Council for further action, as the Governing Body deems appropriate; and


WHEREAS, the Committee shall keep the Mayor and Council informed of its work and shall report to the City Council at the Council’s request; and


WHEREAS, the Committee shall be composed of members who shall be appointed by the Mayor and Council and who shall serve, without compensation, at the pleasure of the Mayor and Council; and


WHEREAS, the terms of the Committee members shall be from January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018; and


WHEREAS, the Committee shall appoint a Chair, and shall meet in accordance with a schedule as the Committee deems appropriate; and


WHEREAS, the Committee members will be indemnified for actions that are performed in the good faith performance of their duties in accordance with the provisions contained in Section 2-64 of the City Code, as well as applicable law; and


WHEREAS, the Mayor and Council now wish to appoint certain individuals to serve on the Committee.


NOW, THEREFORE, BE AND IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, by the Mayor and Council of the City of Asbury Park, in the County of Monmouth and State of New Jersey, as follows:


1.              A “Business Committee” (the “Committee”) is hereby established in and for the City, in accordance with the terms and conditions referenced above.


2.               The following individuals are hereby appointed to serve on the Committee:


              Appointee                                                                      Term to Expire


              Deputy Mayor Amy Quinn                                          12/31/2018

              Michael Capabianco, City Manager                            12/31/2018

              Jenn Hampton                                                                      12/31/2018

              Bianca Freda                                                                      12/31/2018

              Kathy Kelly                                                                      12/31/2018

              Lesly Castellini                                                        12/31/2018

              Marilyn Schlossback                                                        12/31/2018

              Russel Lewis                                                                      12/31/2018

              Reggie Flimlin                                                        12/31/2018

              Jackie Sharpe                                                                      12/31/2018

              Larry Dembrun                                                        12/31/2018

              Phyllis Buttitta-Maffucci                                          12/31/2018

              Isaac Jones                                                                      12/31/2018

              Adam Nelson                                                                      12/31/2018

              Sylvia Sylvia Cioffi                                                        12/31/2018


3.              A certified copy of this Resolution shall be provided to all appointed members and Michael N. Capabianco, City Manager.

Meeting History

Jan 3, 2018 7:00 PM  Municipal Council Organizational Meeting

The following members are being appointed:

Deputy Mayor Amy Quinn, Term: 12/31/2018

Michael Capabianco, City Manager, Term: 12/31/2018

Jenn Hampton, Term: 12/31/2018

Bianca Freda, Term: 12/31/2018

Kathy Kelly, Term: 12/31/2018

Lesly Castellini, Term: 12/31/2018

Marilyn Schlossback, Term: 12/31/2018

Russel Lewis, Term: 12/31/2018

Reggie Flimlin, Term: 12/31/2018

Jackie Sharpe, Term: 12/31/2018

Larry Dembrun, Term: 12/31/2018

Phyllis Buttitta-Maffucci, Term: 12/31/2018

Isaac Jones, Term: 12/31/2018

Adam Nelson, Term: 12/31/2018

Sylvia Sylvia Cioffi, Term: 12/31/2018

MOVER:Jesse Kendle, Councilmember
SECONDER:Eileen Chapman, Councilmember
AYES:Eileen Chapman, Jesse Kendle, Amy Quinn, John Moor
ABSENT:Yvonne Clayton