Asbury Park


Establishing a “Community Development Block Grant Committee” in and for the City of Asbury Park and Authorizing Appointments Thereto


Department:City ClerkSponsors:
Category:Reorganization Resolutions


  1. Printout


WHEREAS, the Mayor and City Council of the City of Asbury Park (the “City”) believe that it is in the best interests of the residents of the City to formally create a “Community Development Block Grant Committee,” (also referenced herein as the “Committee”) for the purpose(s) set forth below; and


WHEREAS, the purpose(s) of the Committee shall be review Community Development Block Grant applications and to provide consultative and advisory assistance to Mayor and Council concerning such issues; and


              WHEREAS, it is intended that the Committee shall be advisory in nature, and that the Committee shall report its findings and recommendations to the Mayor and Council for further action, as the Governing Body deems appropriate; and


WHEREAS, the Committee shall keep the Mayor and Council informed of its work and shall report to the City Council at the Council’s request; and


WHEREAS, the Committee shall be composed of members who shall be appointed by the Mayor and Council and who shall serve, without compensation, at the pleasure of the Mayor and Council; and


WHEREAS, the terms of the Committee members shall begin January 1, 2017 and shall expire December 31, 2017; and

WHEREAS, the Committee shall appoint a Chair, and shall meet in accordance with a schedule as the Committee deems appropriate; and

WHEREAS, the Committee members will be indemnified for actions that are performed in the good faith performance of their duties in accordance with the provisions contained in Section 2-64 of the City Code, as well as applicable law; and


WHEREAS, the Mayor and Council now wish to appoint certain individuals to serve on the Committee.


NOW, THEREFORE, BE AND IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, by the Mayor and Council of the City of Asbury Park, in the County of Monmouth and State of New Jersey, as follows:


1.              A “Community Development Block Grant Committee” (the “Committee”) is hereby established in and for the City, in accordance with the terms and conditions referenced above.


2.               The following individuals are hereby appointed to serve on the Committee:


              Appointee                                                                      Term to Expire


Mayor John Moor                                                        12/31/2017

Deputy Mayor Amy Quinn                                          12/31/2017

Cassandra Dickerson                                                        12/31/2017

Leesha Floyd                                                                      12/31/2017

Janice Molloy                                                                      12/31/2017

Susan Mayard                                                                      12/31/2017

Patrick Jaquinto                                                        12/31/2017


3.              A certified copy of this Resolution shall be provided to Michael N. Capabianco, City Manager. 

Meeting History

Jan 1, 2017 2:00 PM  Municipal Council Organizational Meeting
MOVER:Eileen Chapman, Councilmember
SECONDER:Yvonne Clayton, Councilmember
AYES:Eileen Chapman, Yvonne Clayton, Jesse Kendle, Amy Quinn, John Moor